Rotator Cuff

Rotator Cuff

The rotator cuff consists of four muscles which stabilize the shoulder joint. These muscles are the subscapularis, supraspinatus, infraspinatus, and teres minor. They hold the ‘ball-shaped’ head of the humerus bone in the socket of the scapula. These muscles arise from the scapula and connect directly into the head of the humerus bone. The glenohumeral joint is similar to a golf ball sitting on a golf tee. When the arm is elevated, the rotator cuff compresses the glenohumeral joint in order to allow the large deltoid muscle to further elevate the arm.

Rotator Cuff Injury

The rotator cuff is a supporting and strengthening structure located in the shoulder joint. It is made up of tendons and muscles that are responsible for complete shoulder movement.

1st Degree

Symptoms: Mild strain

Care: Rest, ice.

2nd Degree

Symptoms: Tear and scar tissue.

Care: Rest, Ice and Medical or physical therapy.

3rd Degree

Symptoms: Rupture of tendon.

Care: Rest, Medical and physical therapy

Leave a Reply